Frequently Asked Questions
Anyone 18 years of age or older is considered to be able to legally consent to marriage.
Young men and women ages 16 and 17 years old can also marry, with the consent of the parent or guardian.
Children under the age of 16 can get a license to marry with written parental consent and a court order. A hearing will be held on the petition to marry under the age of 16 and the minors must be found physically and mentally developed to assume full marital and parental duties as proven by the testimony of a physician, or it must be in the “best interest of society” that the marriage be permitted.
If you’re thinking of getting married in Idaho, you may want to start by reading about the marriage and divorce laws in your state. Also, if you’re underage, you should seriously consider whether now is the best time for you and your partner to get married.
It’s important to involve your family, friends, and community to ensure a strong beginning to hopefully many years of wedded bliss.
Note: State laws change all the time. It’s important to speak with an experienced local family law attorney about any questions you have or conduct your own legal research to verify these family laws.
If you have a guardian, they have to give written permission
- People who are already married to someone else.
- Anyone not of sound mind
(though the law doesn’t say who decides that).
- You’ll need to appear together at a County Recorder’s Office.
- Approximately $30 in cash. Many County Recorders do not take checks or cards. (Fee varies by county. Some counties charge up to $20 more on Saturdays.)
- A social security number for each applicant. Non-U.S. residents should bring identification from the country in which they are a citizen.
(No SSN? Obtain a letter from the nearest Social Security Office.)
You'll also have to bring one of the following as proof of identity and age:
- Current driver’s license
- State-issued identification card
- Original birth certificate or certified copy
You should know, you do not need to be a resident of Idaho to obtain an Idaho marriage license; however, an Idaho State marriage license is only valid in Idaho.
There is no waiting period before using the license; you may get married the same day.
After one year:
There is no expiration date on the license. If not used within a year, please contact:
Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
There are no rules about what your ceremony needs to consist of. It could be as short as this:
Officiant: You wanna be married?
Officiant: Cool, you’re married!
Or you could have a destination wedding in Ireland and take the entire family to stay in a castle for a week with a handfasting ceremony and pig roast on the pebbly beach.
Most couples opt for something in between.
It’s your day to do your way, and I’m here to help you find what best suits you.